Elementary Summer Reading 2024: Non-Fiction, Half Day-2nd Grade

This tribute to one of the most diverse, fascinating, and beloved species on the planet (turtles) speaks to the diversity and wisdom of these long-lived reptiles.

Bridges can be high or low, long or short, straight or curvy. Some are designed to blend in, while others stand out. But each one tells a story: a reminder of our history, a testament to ingenuity and engineering, an invitation to imagine the possibilities of the future. Literally and symbolically, bridges connect us-to new places, new cultures, and new people. . . Majewski delivers a . . . look at bridges from all around the world: from the incredible structures that connect San Francisco's Golden Gate and Zambia's Victoria Falls, to England's Tower Bridge and Japan's Akashi-Kaikyo Bridge, and many in between. . . . 'Bridges' shows how these . . . structures unite the manmade and natural worlds, and how they bring humanity together.

From fried dumplings to fortune cookies, here are the tales behind your favorite foods. Do you know the stories behind delectable dishes—like the fun connection between scallion pancakes and pizza? Or how dumplings cured a village’s frostbitten ears? Or how wonton soup tells about the creation of the world? Separated into courses like a Chinese menu, these tales—based in real history and folklore—are filled with squabbling dragons, magical fruits, and hungry monks. This book will bring you to far-off times and marvelous places, all while making your mouth water. And, along the way, you might just discover a deeper understanding of the resilience and triumph behind this food, and what makes it undeniably American.

The true story of John Meyers and Charles Bender, who in 1911 became the first two Native American pro baseball players to face off in a World Series, teaches important lessons about resilience, doing what you love in the face of injustice, and the fight for Native American representation in sports.

Everything you need to know about dinosaurs, pterosaurs, marine reptiles, and mammals in this essential prehistoric encyclopedia for kids. With more than 1,000 images and fascinating facts, The Dinosaur Book brings young readers face-to-face with some of the most incredible creatures ever to exist. Using a range of full-color images, including spectacular fossilized bones and realistic digital reconstructions, all forms of prehistoric life are covered. Young readers can also find out about the latest scientific discoveries that have changed the way we see these prehistoric animals--from new feathered dinosaurs to how and where.

A collection of original poems about New Year celebrations throughout the year and around the world. Includes an introduction about worldwide New Year celebrations plus a map, information about calendars, New Year greetings in many languages, additional factual information about the celebrations, and author's sources.

Fairy House is a fascinating adventure into the making of miniscule kingdoms of the fairytale realm from objects found in nature. Through more than 350 clear, detailed, full-color photographs and understandable yet whimsical guidance, the reader will learn to fashion intricate, tiny cups from acorn pods and grapevine tendrils, dreamlike beds from delicate flowers and leaves, and an amazing array of other beautiful and unique pieces that will inspire the reader to find their true artistic ability and imagination. A photo gallery of other stunning pieces provides the reader with more possibilities to create.

Retells fifteen fairy tales that celebrate heroes for the power of their hearts instead of their swords, including King Arthur, who rules by listening to others, and Prince Charming, who wishes people would stop typecasting him.

A nonfiction picture book that follows a day in the life of a backyard jumping spider. Includes information about jumping spiders.

Humans' use of language is one of our distinguishing features. Language allows us to communicate what we think, what we want, what we feel, and what we have learned. Some 100,000 years ago, humans began speaking. Since then, we have developed nearly 7000 languages. Languages are living things; they evolve and change over time. Discover fascinating facts about communication in all its forms, from around the world and over time.

The one-horned animals of Llamacorn Land are excited to share their favorite snacks and treats with you! Now kids can make Llamacorn Cookies at home, along with Gorillacorn Banana Bread Bites, Girafficorn Head-In-A-Cloud Cakes, Walruscorn Sand Dollars, Snakicorn Loop-De-Loop Pretzels, and more!

Through lyrical text and colorful detailed artwork, the mysterious and sometimes bizarre world of mushrooms is explored. Back matter includes a glossary and science facts.

Kids can learn the art of paper folding with Origami Zoo Animals. They will start by practicing basic origami folds. Then they can make a striped tiger, a silly seal, and more. The crafts in this book are easy and super fun! Each project includes colorful photos and step-by-step instructions.

Over the snow, the world is hushed and white. But under the snow lies a secret world of squirrels and snow hares, bears and bullfrogs, and many other animals making their winter home under the snow. This beloved nonfiction picture book reveals the tunnels and caves formed beneath the snow but over the ground, where many kinds of animals live through the winter, safe and warm, awake and busy, but hidden beneath the snow.

The Red Ear Blows Its Nose is an illustrated collection of poems for children and others covering thinking and the brain, identity and what it means to be a person, and nature and the seasons.

Have you ever wondered which plants eat insects? Or how cacti store water? How about which flowers look like bees? Or where is the tallest tree in the world? If you find yourself seeking the answers to these quirky questions and so many more, then Trees, Leaves, Flowers & Seeds may be the book for you!

Do you know why a camel has a hump? A Zebra has stripes? Or why wombats have cube-shaped poop?

Find out the answers in this fun and beautifully illustrated book, and learn oodles of other intriguing facts about the animal world. It's the perfect gift for any kid who loves animals and is always asking "Why?" because who doesn't want to know why a flamingo stands on one leg?

Put on your best pair of hiking boots, grab a sturdy walking stick, and explore the wild places of the United States with this stunning guidebook! Soak up new and shocking facts about this unexpected world of ours; pore over captivating, detail-rich illustrations; and discover surprising new creatures (some may be closer than you think!) every time you open the book. From glistening, snow-packed mountain ranges to searing deserts, this immersive and accessible guide is a one-stop shop for outdoor adventurers, animal enthusiasts, inquisitive minds—and anyone who listens to the call of the wild.